“Hit By Pitch” Is Out Now! [News]

Hey everybody! I know, it’s been ages since I’ve posted.  I hope you’ll forgive me. Exciting news — my first book, Hit By Pitch: Ray Chapman, Carl Mays and the Fatal Fastball is finally available! Details about the project HERE.

If you just want to stop reading now and run right over to McFarland’s website and order it, you certainly may. Also, I’m told it will be available on Amazon in April, and I will update you here when that’s the case.

What? That’s not enough baseball cartooning for you? You require more? You’re in luck. I have a piece in The Moment: Wild, Poignant, Life-Changing Stories from 125 Writers and Artists Famous & Obscure, Smith Magazine’s latest compilation.  These are the folks behind the Six-Word Memoir, so you know it’s gonna be good. My comic is about the ’86 World Series rocking the foundation of my very existence, not to get too dramatic about it.

Enjoy!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Comics, news, Work

3 responses to ““Hit By Pitch” Is Out Now! [News]

  1. Congratulations on your first book. I only hope my own trade paperback does well when it comes out this summer.

  2. Molly,
    Congratulations on your first book, Hit By Pitch. I will be looking forward to buying your book when it is available here..
    I grew up in San Diego and played baseball for Hoover High there (on Ted Williams field) , 1967-1969. You might be interested to know that Mr. Carl Mays came down from his Oregon home every spring and helped coach and teach us young ball players during those years. He would stay in San Diego until the end of the season each year. We did not have the internet nor access baseball stories and statistics like today, so we really didnt know who Carl Mays was, except that he played for the Yankees a long time ago and that he threw a pitch that killed a player. Being only 17 years old, we really did not understand the significance of who this man was and what he had achieved in his career with the Red Sox and the Yankees, and Cincinnati.
    Now, 40 years later, with a B.A. degree and lots of books read and statistics reviewed, I look back and cherish those times listening to Carl Mays tell us stories about Smokey Joe Wood, Babe Ruth, Miller Huggins, Wally Schang and his run ins with Ty Cobb. I had no idea that Carl and Babe Ruth rode the train together from Providence to Boston when they were called up. This was my connection to history. I spent hours in the batting cage with Mays trying to teach me to hit to the opposite field while betting me a Dr Pepper that I couldn’t.
    He was very aged-looking at that time, (about 76 yrs old but looked older), and he died 2 years later in San Diego during his last trip here helping with the Hoover High pitchers. Any young man who would take the time to study Mr. Mays’ major league pitching stats would be very impressed. I wish I could have known back in 1969 more about baseball history and the part this man played in it, not just for one incident. He was truly one of the top pitchers in the majors for several years with Boston and NYY. (he was the winning pitcher for the clinching game for Boston in 1918 World Series).
    Chuck Johnson, San Diego

    • tyrnyx

      Chuck,
      Thanks so much for a great story, and for sharing your connection to Carl Mays. His biography does touch on his time spent coaching kids, and it’s wonderful to get a note from one of them! I truly hope you enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

